I need your help with the dentist….

That’s twice now, twice that we’ve been to the dentist and Lois hasn’t opened her mouth, twice now that I’ve been through the embarrassment and twice now that I’ve had to rebook the appointment so that the dentist can hopefully one day, count her teeth before she’s in her 50s. This time I even went in the chair before her, yes I’ve paid for me to have a checkup appointment so that I could show her there is nothing to worry about. Did it make a difference, hell no. 
We’d even done rehearsals at home because I know last time she sat in the chair she pursed her lips together and she didn’t move them, my little chatterbox didn’t say a word just in case the dentist got to look at her gnashers.
So I had to resort to bribery, whilst sat in the chair I told her that she was a really big girl and that she could do this and it wouldn’t hurt, but there she sat tight lipped. I said that we could go to the park straight afterwards if she let them have a look, I promised that she could have my phone in the car to watch videos on YouTube, I also said we’d get her favourite food prawns on the way home. No still not having it. She was promised a sticker if she did it, which did the trick for me at 4 years old, but no not for her. 
So I took my last shot, gritted my teeth put my mouth on her ear and told her that if she didn’t open her lips and let the man take a look at her pegs she would never have a prize egg again. It’s bad form to promise your little girl chocolate while she sat in the dentist chair but that’s where she pushes me to! Have a guess what happened, yep I’ve got my fingers crossed for 3rd time lucky. When we arrived home I asked her about it and what she was worried about, nothing is the answer I got and she informed me that she would do it when she’s 8! That kid has got to be kidding me. 
How the hell do you get them to do it? Any tips would be great! Bar dropping haribo into her open mouth, it’s a bit frowned upon there. 

Leave a Reply

